Review: The LEGO Movie

I saw The LEGO Movie on Sunday with a friend of mine, because we’ve been trying to hang out for a while now, and this was the first weekend our schedules finally worked out.

I’m not usually one for kids’ movies. I suffer from “second-hand embarrassment,” which basically means that I’m the person squirming when people in movies do stupid things (it hits when I watch rom-coms, too). So The LEGO Movie was kind of a joyous surprise. It has a lot of pop culture references and nostalgia while still being fresh and fun. The romance is neither too cutesy nor too fraught with conflict, the villain was perfectly megalomaniacal, and the film has an unexpected cameo that is just the cherry on top of the sugar-pop fun.

It’s a good film to watch with your family or to catch a matinee on your own.

Leave a comment